The story of the Universe

..and some language nerdifications! I love listening to different accent. In my own language I am pretty good at spotting where people come from. English is a bit more tricky! But I love to try to separate accent and see if I can spot them or learn more about them. I guess the first thing your start with is separating british english from american english. Our broadcasting in Sweden has lots to offer in both so that is not very hard to catch.

Then moving over to the lovely indian accents, the australians, the southafricans and caribbeans. Those are not that hard either. But I refuse to stop there! Next step for me was to spot irish and scotish accents in general and now when I have faint hint of it it’s time to see if I can separate also accents within England!

What has this to do with the story of the Universe, I can hear you ask. Oh but please!! The extremely cute professor Brian Cox!!! I’m just saying!! Whims, get me a glass of water or I’ll faint! Just listen to his language!! It’s beautiful! Oh and if you play the video once more you will also catch the story of the Universe brilliantly told! (I had to play it three times before I could concentrate on what he says, not only how.

A close SL friend enlightened me and said prof. Cox comes from Lanchashire. I also got this link from the same friend, showing a rougher version of the accent. Brian Cox must have polished his language whilst studying the stars, probably laying on an Oxford green grass with a beautiful 20 year old laying next to him… Sighs loud.

Adding some curiosity from my own language for your amusement:)

2 thoughts on “The story of the Universe

Leave a Reply

